Employment Law 2014-Do not Forget

Author: Li-An C. Leonard

Increase in California's Minimum Wage

Remember, California's minimum wage increases on July 1, 2014 to $9 per hour.

Since the minimum monthly salary requirement for most exempt employees is two times the minimum wage for full-time employment, any increase to California's minimum wage triggers an increase to the minimum monthly salary requirement.  This means that the minimum monthly salary requirement for most exempt employees increases on July 1, 2014 to $3,120.

New Qualifying Events for Paid Family Leave Insurance

The Paid Family Leave Insurance program or PFL is a state-sponsored insurance program which offers up to six weeks of partial wage replacement benefits in a 12-month period for certain qualifying events.  PFL does not create the right to a leave of absence and does not require employers to create a leave of absence policy or guarantee reinstatement rights other than those already required by applicable law. 

Beginning July 1, 2014, employees will be eligible to receive partial wage replacement under PFL for absences to care for a seriously ill grandparent, grandchild, sibling or parent-in-law.

Related Practices